If you will indulge me this moment, this has nothing to do with WoW.

When I was a kid we had a meal, usually twice a month, that I grew up thinking was a delicacy. Rice w/ tomato gravy and homemade biscuits, that’s it, no meat. My parents always acted like it was such a treat, that’s why we only had it twice a month. My daddy would rave about it saying it must be someones birthday or something, and momma would blush and say she was just taking care of her boys.

When I got to be an adult, Looking back, I realized that there was no meat in the house the day before payday, and momma was cooking all she had. My parents made me firmly believe that meal was special.

Now, as an adult with children of my own, That meal was more special than my momma could imagine.  It taught me a very important life lesson, one that I hope I pass on to my kids.

There was a time when I was going through a divorce with my first wife, that there wasn’t much food in my house. The kids were with me a lot because my schedule as a fireman allowed it. Many nights I would cook for the kids and I wouldn’t eat until they were through. I wanted to make sure they had full tummies. If they ate most of it, I would eat what they left on their plate.

I’m not looking for sympathy as times are a lot better now, I’m still driving the life lesson point home.

Can you guess what that lesson is?

In my best Mississippi redneck dialect, It aint whatcha got that counts, its whatcha  do with it that counts.

Gonna call Mom, I need some homemade biscuits.

