Recently a guildie posted a blog about our guild, she discussed how we have a guild name given to us for various reasons by our guildmates. Recently I was awarded the dubious title of “The Magpie”.

Apparently a Magpie is this really silly bird that gets into shiny things, stealing them, hoarding them and admiring them.

So, Xav, how did you come to be known as the Magpie? I figured you would ask, you nosy critters.

We were doing our weekly night one farm punking of ICC and had just killed them damn vampire triplets. Lo and behold, Wand of Ruby Claret dropped and I quickly said gimme gimme gimme. I received said item because I was by far the most deserving (yea right! I think I was the only person that could use it.). After my loots was given to me and it had been equipped, we take off up the ramp towards BQL’s trash. I have my character screen up admiring the stats on my new arsenal of awesomeness and mistakenly run right past where everyone else is staged to regroup and fight trash. By the time i hear the raid leader screaming my name, I am smack dab in the middle of the trash. Instead of taking one for the team and just eating a face melting, I make the decision that we can win this and I drag the whole lot of them filthy bastards back to the rest of the raid.

There are people rebuffing, sitting on the ground eating, and I believe some were even on a bio break. A wipe obviously occurred as no one was ready for a pull. When my raid leader asked why had I decided to commit raidicide, all I could say was that I was looking at my new Shiny. Fortunately, I raid with a great group of people with equally great senses of humor, but out of that emerged “The Magpie”

And now you know “The rest of the story”.

